My very first GIVEAWAY!

The people over at Chronicle Books were kind enough to send me two copies of “The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Weddings.”  The book has clever and cute advice for how to deal with wedding emergencies– some real ideas and some funny ones.  It would make a great gift for a bridal shower.

To see an excerpt, go to:

‘How to Trim the Guest List’
http://www.chroniclebooks.com/worstcasescenario/?p=404

Example: “Agree in advance what the cut-off level will be – Remove entire categories. Decide no kids, no work-related people, no relations beyond first cousins, no dates for singles, no redheads.”

Seeing as this blog is entitled “Modern Bride With a Budget,” the giveaway is….

Leave a comment with your best budget-savings or DIY wedding tip by August 14, 2009.  Two comments will be chosen at random to receive a free copy of this book!

About Julie

Julie blogs about food science, her favorite recipes and appreciating the little things in life at savvyeat.com.
This entry was posted in Contests, DIY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My very first GIVEAWAY!

  1. Clarissa says:

    Actually, for my own wedding I’m going to follow what several other brides-to-be have done: enter giveaways for the items you need!

  2. LOL! Ijust had the same give-away on my blog! Awesome book, no? I just found your blog as you commented on my inspiration board on SMP. can’t wait to read more!
    Louise

  3. iftinkerbellknit says:

    I am slashing the flower budget by making almost all (bridesmaid bouquets, boutonnieres, corsages, etc) of my flowers from cloth and crepe paper (see the bouquet in the summer issue of Martha Stewart Weddings) This way i can have my super bright arrangements that fit our color scheme and i am estimating about $120 for all of my flowers. Bonus- they are hand made and won’t die!

  4. organizedmoms says:

    I found this place looking up bike weddings. I love the bike photos on your old blog!

  5. Brittney says:

    I love (simple) graphic design, so for my wedding I’m planning on doing the design for our invitations and such and then taking them to Kinkos or somewhere to be printed out on some nice stationary =)

  6. swati says:

    Wear you mom’s or sister’s wedding gown. This way you save a lot. Rather than spending a lot of big bucks on something you might never wear again, borrow your mom’s or grandmom’s wedding gown oozing with sentimental and vintage appeal!

  7. Ayushi says:

    One of the most effective cost-cutting wedding strategy is to ask your close friends to sing instead of hiring a professional band. Also one could ask one’s creative best friend to take care of the make-up and hair.

  8. Pingback: Last Call! « Modern Bride With a Budget

Leave a Reply

